Lost and found

via Daily Prompt: Toothbrush

I was all of 8 or was it 9?

I don’t remember exactly . We were  on our way to Araku valley this was way before it became a tourist spot filled with hotels.

My mother’s friend’s friend had been kind enough to open their doors to us for those few days.

There was a single train running from vishakapatnam to araku valley. As my parents carried the luggage I broke free from them and raced ahead trying to be the first one on the platform. I was out of breath by the time  I reached the platform and turned back with a huge grin to look at my parents.

My smile faded as I realized I couldn’t see my parents or sister anywhere.  I tried to retrace my steps and studied the sea of faces, trying to single out my parents.

A woman approached me ,she was shabbily dressed  with a child clinging to her resting his head on her shoulder, “Are you lost? “ she asked . I dint reply since I remebered all those lessons in school warning us about interacting with strangers.

I observed her apprehensively, she had a tattered make shift sling bag with an old toothbrush, a comb and a small packet of biscuits in it.

Tell me where are you headed?  I told her where we were going and she said she was traveling  in the same train.  She caught my hand and we went to wards the stairs leading to another platform.

Just then I heard a loud voice calling out my name,  I turned in the direction  of the voice and saw my anxious father standing atop the stairs with a a relieved expression. I waved to the lady and ran  towards my father, we hurried back to my mother who was already weeping imagining the worst.

Needless to say all’s well that ends well.  We reached Araku valley and had a splendid time there.
This post is in response to the Daily post prompt toothbrush.

Author: intrepidglobetrotters

We love art, travelling, nature,good movies and a life of adventure. Join us as i take you with me through my writing and K shows you our travels through his pictures.

1 thought on “Lost and found”

Leave a Reply

